Lifestyle/Personal

Girls’ Night Done Right

A bouquet of bright yellow flowers with a hand written card attached, a long drive on a warm nearly-Spring evening to visit a friend, two hours of girl-talk and all-you-can-eat-sushi, countless laughs, and a screening of (the incredibly boring and weird) Fifty Shades of Grey is sometimes all a girl really needs. The last few weeks have been mentally draining and I can’t see the next few weeks getting any better. Life is busy and the older I get the less time I seem to have for impromptu girls’ nights, long text messages, or even phone calls. I always promise myself that I am going to be a better friend, a more thoughtful friend, and MAKE the time to show my girls how much they mean to me. And I will.

It’s crazy to think that we now spend our time together talking about houses and weddings and children and Home Sense. It’s wonderful to think that after all this time, after all of the stupid things we got into when we were “cool teenagers” that we’re still close, still friends, and still there for one another. I always tell people that I don’t have a lot of friends because I’ve never needed them. I have a handful of the best friends a girl could ask for…

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.” Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey

Love Always,

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

