Bursting the Bubble, Lifestyle/Personal

Ringing in the Resolutions

From Pinterest
From Pinterest

As I think back on 2014 I realize that I spent most of it in a hibernating kind of contemplation. I thought instead of doing. I questioned instead of acting. I was afraid and didn’t take enough risks.

My Year in Review

  • I changed my blog multiple times and am currently looking at new themes for the new year
  • I thought about giving up blogging altogether
  • I quit my job at the pizza place and gave a half-ass attempt to freelancing, then wound up serving pizza again
  • I went on multiple interviews and learned a lot from them
  • I applied to a million jobs (am still applying on a daily basis, HELP)
  • I got a part-time job at Oxford Learning Centre
  • I had many downtown adventures and attended a few amazing events
  • I took a short fiction writing class at Ryerson and adored it
  • I started writing short stories and began submitting them to literary magazines (I even entered CBC’s Short Story Contest)
  • I wrote a novella based loosely on my Uncle’s life for NaNoWriMo
  • I started writing for Passion8 Mag, which has helped harness my creativity
  • I started cooking
  • I TURNED 25
  • I met and spoke with inspiring women thanks to Ten Thousand Coffees
  • I read 61 books and loved most of them
  • I spent loads of time with my family, my niece, my in-laws, and my friends — they’ve been my happiness this year
  • My boyfriend and I have taken our relationship to the next level (more on that another time)
  • I thought a lot about privacy and social media and how it tends to make you lose sense of yourself
  • I decided to delete my Facebook account since I only use it to creep other people

The small steps I took in 2014 were on a winding road that led me back to the beginning more than once. It was the year of ONE-STEP-FORWARD-TWO-STEPS-BACK and I’m completely dizzy from losing my footing so many times. Some days I wasn’t quite sure who I was, nor where I was headed. If I wish for anything in 2015 it would have to be clarity. I just want to know what I’m supposed to be doing. I want to feel more like myself. I want to make something of myself!

Resolutions for 2015 

  • BE PRESENT (Keep my phone in my purse.)
  • WRITE MORE POETRY AND SHORT STORIES (Who cares if no one reads them.)
  • FOCUS ON STARTING MY CAREER (Even if it what I’m doing isn’t part of the original plan.)
  • GET MY PRIVACY BACK (Social media is convenient, but privacy is unparalleled. I will share what I want, not what I think I have to.)

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.”
― T.S. Eliot

Happy New Year!

See you in 2015!

– Vanessa

2 thoughts on “Ringing in the Resolutions”

Leave a Reply

