Word of the Week [HYPOCRISY]

I bet you a quarter that you’ve called someone a hypocrite at least once in your life. Maybe you’ve even used that word when all the person did was change their mind about something that doesn’t affect you at all. I’ve battled with this word a lot, especially when it comes to blogging or submitting articles. When your words are published on the Internet they are there forever. Anyone can look up my posts from four years ago and compare them to the person I am now. Maybe they’ll think I’m a hypocrite when they see how much I’ve changed.

photo

My latest struggle has been with THE END. I’ve had some readers congratulate me on the new things to come, I’ve had some admit that they’re saddened by my seemingly rash decision to part ways, but I’ve also received some great advice.

“Change the site around so that it shows off your writing and your portfolio. Don’t get rid of the blog or stop posting. Continue with all of it, but don’t use it as an excuse when you’re struggling with your other writing.” Am I a hypocrite if I continue blogging in 2015 — even if the posts are less frequent? Or is having a change of heart okay?

“We are all hypocrites. We cannot see ourselves or judge ourselves the way we see and judge others.”

― José Emilio PachecoBattles in the Desert & Other Stories

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

