Question: When does a blogger stop blogging?

I started my blog in 2010 as a way to get my writing out there, as a way to get comfortable with my words being read by family members and complete strangers. It’s evolved many times as my content expanded into book reviews, product reviews, travel diaries, restaurant reviews, and everything else in between. I’m proud of the my voice, the voice that this blog has helped harness and create, but when is it time to move on? When I started My Pen, My Voice I wasn’t sure how long it would last or who I would meet because of it. I’ve met some wonderful writers, publishing folk, and have made great friends that I am thankful for. I’m thankful for being able to share my life with other people and for those posts that actually resonated with my readers (however few they might be).

tumblr_inline_mhu79bLomp1rez6q0

I know fashion bloggers, lifestyle bloggers, and book bloggers who have made careers out of their blogs. Who have made so many opportunities for themselves in this vast place we call the Internet. They’ve made a name for themselves and stand out from the millions and millions of bloggers out there. I’ve been waiting patiently for my break, convinced that my blog would be turned into a book or that someone in publishing (or even Ellen DeGeneres) would stumble upon my blog and offer me a book deal. It hasn’t happened, but instead of being devastated I’m shifting my energy.

I love my blog, but I’m afraid that sometimes it distracts me from other writing projects, from a novel I’ve been thinking about, from short stories that I’ve started but never finished, and from pitching to other websites or magazines with different content than my own. I fear that since I am my own editor I’m not growing as a writer and that my content has been recycled. I find that to be a wasteful state for a writer, for a person.

“the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.”
– Benjamin Franklin 

Long blog short, my last post on My Pen, My Voice will be published December 31, 2014. It’s time to make some changes in my life and make some room for other writing priorities. I will begin a new year not as a blogger/writer but as a Writer. You’ll still read my words on Chic Darling, Passion8, and CanCulture. I’ll still be writing every single day. I’ll still be tweeting and reading and sharing my adventures with you, but it won’t be here, on this blog. Maybe one day I’ll have an author website or maybe I’ll write for a magazine or freelance my ass off. I don’t know, I just know that it’s time to move on because change is good and I’m ready for it.

So, let’s make these last few months of 2014 and this blog count.

tumblr_mi6xc7l6Be1s5ys1do1_500

…almost

Vanessa xo
4 thoughts on “Question: When does a blogger stop blogging?

  1. Great post, Vanessa. Embrace the change.

    Get out from behind all the books you are reading and hiding behind, and grab life by the horns. Being out and about meeting people will open more opportunities for you. Stop waiting for them to come to you and go get them!

    Hard work pays off. I have watched your blog for quite some time and enjoyed all you had to offer. I look forward to seeing where your new journey takes you. This is just the beginning… Not the end. ❤

  2. Woah – that’s HUGE news! I think it’s great that you know what you want and you’re going after it – it really does make all the difference. I hope you’re not going away on all platforms, because I’d miss you too much xo

Leave a Reply

