THE CELLULAR DEBATE: Lumia 1020 vs iPhone 5

I have a love/hate/love relationship with technology and social media. I love connecting with people but have to force myself to unplug every once in a while. I have to remind myself that the world doesn’t need to see or know everything I do. I need to remember that privacy is precious and it demands protection. I also know that it’s important to your resume, your network, and your job to connect with people online. It gives you a place to stand out, it allows you to “meet” people, and it just might help you start your career. Technology is all about balance.

“Life without a phone is riskier, lonelier, more vivid.”
― Eloisa JamesParis in Love

That being said, today, a phone is an important commodity. I LOVE my iPhone, it’s easy to use, the camera is awesome, and I am all for FaceTiming my niece, but lately I’ve been yearning for a different kind of smart phone experience. I’m searching for a phone that can take even better photos than my iPhone, a phone I can blog from, a phone where I will actually use the calendar (I get annoyed with the iPhone calendar), a phone that I love to hold (it isn’t too large but not too small), a phone that will help me to connect with people and capture memories, most importantly a phone that I love but am not attached to.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 8.05.33 AM

I have an upgrade with Rogers in November and before I run to the store to pick up an iPhone 6 I want to explore my options. I got to try out the Lumia 1020 for a few weeks and was really impressed with its camera, how easy it is to use, and the amazing battery life. My only issue is the app situation and the awkward camera lens. I can’t download apps properly because I don’t have a Windows account and even after creating one I had a difficult time figuring out how to take off the parental controls. Also, there wasn’t an INSTAGRAM app — I had to email the photos to myself to post them on Instagram. The camera lens is a little weird, it sticks out the back of the phone forcing you to keep the phone faced down (I was too scared I would scratch the screen to keep it like that).

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 8.05.35 AM

Generally, I do like the look of the phone. It’s smooth, not too big, and the screen doesn’t get as many finger prints as my iPhone. However, with the new iPhone 6 on the market I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I LOVE the rounder, smoother look of the new iPhone and even though I don’t love big phones, the 6 is only a  bit bigger than the 5. I’m not a huge fan of the digital wallet and won’t be using it, BUT I already KNOW how to use the iPhone and I can easily switch over all of my information. So the ultimate question is will I be waiting in line with the other Apple fanatics for my very own iPhone 6 OR will I be switching over to something new?

iphone_6_iphone_6_plus1

Talk soon,
Vanessa

 

* I stand corrected! There is a BETA version of INSTAGRAM for the Lumia 1020! Check it out here!
One thought on “THE CELLULAR DEBATE: Lumia 1020 vs iPhone 5

Leave a Reply

