Bursting the Bubble, Lifestyle/Personal

LAUGH at YOURSELF, Joan Rivers said so.

Anyone who has access to a T.V., a cell phone, or the Internet knows that last week Joan Rivers passed away at the age of 81. I’m not going to pretend that I was a huge fan of hers or that I idolized her. However, after watching a few memorial clips about her I’ve fallen for the way that she looks at life. She was a comedian; a hilarious, smart, powerful woman who wasn’t afraid to laugh at herself. I read the jokes she made about her husband committing suicide, the jokes she made about her excessive plastic surgery, and the jokes she made about her sex life. Although they made me laugh, I admire her comments on laughter itself most of all. She had the ability to laugh at herself, to speak her mind, and to question how society is run. She proved that laugher is the best medicine.

I watched a clip of her on Larry King where she said something along the lines of if you can laugh about it, everything will be okay. My biggest problem lately is taking everything personally, cutting myself up because of what I think other people think about me. Whether it’s an interview I didn’t get, or a look from a complete stranger, or telling people I’m unemployed instead of freelancing, it’s like I’m punishing myself. If you think about my situation the way people like Joan Rivers thinks about things, the fact that I have six years of post-secondary education and can’t even get an interview for a receptionist position not only comments on how much of a failure our school system is, but it’s kind of funny. Who do you have to blow know around this province to be taken seriously?! I know it’s not personal, even if I sometimes picture HR printing out my resume and covering it with a bright red LOSER stamp.

The only thing I can do is laugh about the interviews I don’t get, smile at the people who think I’ve wasted my entire life on following a dream, become a Joan Rivers kind of optimist (see quote below), work hard to create the life I want to live, and laugh at all of the mistakes I make along the way.

IMG_7705

“I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one door, I’ll go through another door or I’ll make a door. Something terrific will come no matter how dark the present.”

– Joan Rivers

Talk Soon,
Vanessa
1 thought on “LAUGH at YOURSELF, Joan Rivers said so.”

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of
    the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I
    found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back often!

Leave a Reply

