The YES Project

photo

It’s no secret that I’m less than satisfied with my current state of affairs. It’s no secret that I don’t have a plan or that I’m itching to do things that are just unrealistic at this point in my life. It’s no secret that I take things too personally and can’t sleep at night. It’s no longer a secret that this attitude is putting strain on my relationships. Something has to change. It’s impossible to be unhappy all of the time, it’s not like me to be tired all of the time, to lack motivation in getting things done. It’s unlike me to be this extreme brand of antisocial. Something has to change.

I had a very serious conversation with my cousin today (iMessages can get very serious) about everything I just blurted out above. Her solution was simple and yet completely and utterly insane.

“Just start saying yes. Even if it’s stupid or out of your way or seems like a waste of time, say yes. It helps! You have no idea where it could lead.”

So, welcome to the YES PROJECT. I will start saying yes to all of those things I find excuses for. I will say yes and attend events that are an utter inconvenience. I will say yes to doing new things, even if they scare the crap out of me. I will not cancel plans. I will say yes to trips and extra shifts at work and to going out even if it’s past my bedtime. I will say yes to possibilities.

I will say yes to life and I’ll even keep you posted.

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

