Bursting the Bubble, Family Time, Lifestyle/Personal, Toronto Adventures

collect moments not things

photoMy mom took this photo of Isabelle yesterday. She captured a moment, she collected it in the form of a photo. She created a way to share this moment and although I wasn’t there, I feel like I’m apart of it. Her smile, her bright brown eyes, the crisp clear blue sky in the background, I can see it all. I can feel a light breeze and the warmth of the sun on my face, I can even hear Isabelle’s laughter. This is a moment worth collecting.

Isabelle is only nine months old and I find myself collecting so many of our moments together, not just on my phone, but in my heart. There are some things that happen so quickly that I can’t get to my phone quick enough. Like when she leans in to kiss me, or the excitement in her eyes when I walk through the door, or when she dances to a commercial on T.V.

Those are moments I keep with me every single day.

I’m finally mature enough to understand that these moments bring greater joy than any thing out there. It’s so easy to get distracted by pretty things, tangible objects that you can wear and show off. But one look at Izzy’s smile and I couldn’t care less about the purse I’m sporting, or my newest phone case, or even the colour on my nails. I care about making her smile again. Nothing can compare to that. No object can bring more joy than adventure and discovery and all those moments you collect in your heart.

“ while you are alive collect moments not things, earn respect not money and enjoy love not luxuries.”


― Aarti Khurana

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

