Book Reviews, Lifestyle/Personal

you were created to be victorious

4b39bf24fe2078a3491734e2d316b580

Pinterest has been a beacon of hope for me lately — funny, witty, and inspiring quotes are what I’m drawn to and I’ve yet to be disappointed. The quote above stuck with me hours after reading it, so I thought I would share it with you. If you keep up with my blog or better yet know me personally, you’ll know that I am going through a bit of a 20-something-crisis (is too a thing!). As I look back on my mentor sessions with Casie Stewart, my internship recaps with Random House, and other projects I’ve worked on, I’m trying to find my focus again. I’m trying to figure out exactly what I want so that I can take the necessary steps to get it. I’ve even reread that post on Not A Model Blog to see if I can understand what Amanda saw in me that day.

She has an exuberant, uncynical view of life that is extremely rare in young people, like finding a constellation in the sky in the shape of Ryan Gosling’s face…There is no FOMO for her; no desire to be at some crowded, fake event or win a popularity contest. She’s honest, and you can see no fear in her lovely almond-shaped golden eyes.

Who is she talking about? Where did that girl go?

The problem: every single time I am asked what I want to do or where I see myself or what I would do if money/family/location wasn’t an issue, I draw a blank. I can’t. I don’t know. I blank. I see white. I see myself standing on a dirt road, staring out into a thick white fog, not sure if I’m going forward or backward, not sure where I am or what I’m doing. I’m in construction boots and jeans with a thick sweater on, staring out into a white abyss. I haven’t let out a breath in quite some time and as I hike my shoulders closer to my ears a tension headache starts to form. And just as I take a step forward my daydream lifts and I’m more confused than ever.

but it’s okay. this too shall pass. i’ll figure it out.

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

Photo Credit: Pinterest 

Leave a Reply

