Just for Fun, Lifestyle/Personal

Connecting or Distracting

IMG_0629

The more I read the more I wonder if I use technology to connect or to distract. I’m addicted to sharing, to tweeting and Instagramming and I don’t know why. It’s an amazing way to connect with people, to share my adventures and to keep people up to date with my life (if anyone actually cares I mean) but lately it’s been more of a tool for distraction. Sometimes when I’m looking on Pinterest or sliding through tweets, a headache starts to form. Crawling up my neck and setting up shop at the back of my head, sometimes pounding so hard that I feel it in my eyes. That’s when I put my phone down and shake my head.

large

There is such a thing as being on your phone too much. Using it as a tool to distract yourself from life is just as unhealthy as being under the impression that you need to be connected 24/7 to have a meaningful life or a successful career. An important question that I’m trying to answer is not ‘What do I want to do?’ but ‘What kind of life do I want to have?’ (Thrive page 27). I don’t want the kind of life that is controlled by technology. This morning I turned off all of my notifications — email, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest — now I get to decide when I want to receive information. NOW I’m in control. Now I decide when I want to pick up my phone. The next step in toning down my social media/phone obsession is keeping my phone in my purse when I go out and choosing a day where I go tech-free!

large-1

 How does technology affect you or your job?

LMK in the comments!

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

