Baby Belle's Baptism

photo1549533_10152152553601084_717776233_n

Sunday afternoon we celebrated the Baptism of my niece (and now God daughter ) Isabelle. Dressed in an ivory knit sweater, a flower headpiece, and tiny flats with a rhinestone strap, Isabelle looked like an innocent little doll. Her smile is infectious and melts me to my very core – Godmother or not, this child makes me happier than I’ve ever been. The moment she recognizes me, the second she reaches for my face (normally my big squared glasses) everything else fades away. It’s just me and baby Izzy and I love her more than she’ll ever understand.

After an intimate little ceremony and a hectic day, we headed over to Fabbrica for a delicious luncheon. I absolutely love Fabbrica — last year Alex and I went there for Winterlicious and really enjoyed ourselves. We sat at a long rustic table, surrounded by colourful flowers, and homemade cookies. Somewhere between mouth-watering pizzas, a delicious beet and goat cheese salad, pillows of ricotta gnocchi, and a few glasses of wine, my sister and brother-in-law handed me a lovely gift. With it came the sweetest card I have ever read, a card that I will cherish. In it they told me why they chose me to be Izzy’s Godmother and I truly hope that I live up to everything they wish for.

image-3

image

image-2

image-1

To me, being a Godmother is about being there for Izzy when she goes through anything that she feels she can’t talk to her parents about. It’s about being her friend and teaching her things that maybe no one else can. I look at my own Godparents and I hope to be all of that and even more for Isabelle.

image copy

 Thank you for everything, Jessica and Richard, I am so honoured to have been such a big part of this special day. Thank you to all of the wonderful staff at Fabbrica for making Izzy’s Baptism beautiful, comfortable, and delicious. Oh, and Tia Mary — the flowers were beautiful!!

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo  

Leave a Reply

