Book Reviews, Just for Fun, Products and Brands

A Writer is only as good as her tools

I use Grammarly’s plagiarism detector because sometimes spellycheck jut doesnt cut it!

large

I’m always trying to find ways to improve my writing, to ensure I don’t make a fool of myself when I post a blog or send in short story. Sometimes, I’m afraid that spellcheck and auto-correct just don’t cut it. Last week I was contacted by Grammarly and asked if I wanted to be apart of their Blogger Partnership Program. After doing my research on the website, I thought Yes this totally works with my blog, lets go for it! Grammarly is an amazing automated tool that checks your work for grammar, spelling, and punctuation mistakes in various kinds of writing. It also checks for plagiarism! Obviously before writing about it I wanted to try it out, so the great people at Grammarly gave me a 30-day free trial. Let me tell you, I’ll be picking up that YA novel that I started and never finished now that I have an account with Grammarly.

Screen Shot 2014-01-13 at 7.24.23 AM

Grammarly was founded by Alex Shevchenko and Max Lytvyn in 2008 and by 2012, they had over 3 million registered users. In April 2013, Grammarly was selected as a winner of the 2013 Red Herring Top 100 North America awardThey have also been featured on Forbes, the Today Show, and About.com. This kind of website is great because it’s not just for bloggers or writers! It can be used by students, business folk (sometimes it’s good to check over important emails and documents), or by you social media aficionados who could spruce up their 140 characters (or less). For more information on Grammarly, check out their website, I’ve posted a photo of the pricing below.

Screen Shot 2014-01-13 at 7.51.01 AM

Here’s how it works, you paste/upload whatever it is that you’re working on, then select that paper type (general, business, academic, technical, creative, or casual), press start review and within moments your work has been edited. Grammarly found 11 issues in my untitled and barely started YA novel — a score of 68 (YIKES!). What I like about this website is that it explains what your issues are so you can improve your writing. If you’re looking for synonyms to change-up your work, just click it and a whole slew of them will pop up. Wonder if you’re plagiarizing? Click the plagiarism button and it’ll show you where certain phrases from your work have shown up elsewhere. It said that I should cite “didn’t want to get caught doing the walk of shame” which I don’t think is completely necessary, but it’s cool to take note of. I don’t have a professional proofreader but it’s nice to have a second set of eyes to take a look at my work for things that I may have missed.

Have you tried out Grammarly? What do you think about it?

LMK in the comments!

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

Disclosure: Grammarly set me up with a free, 30-day premium account, as well as, a $50 gift card to Amazon in exchange for a post about their site. As always I don’t write about what I don’t like and have posted an HONEST review of their website. Also, I used Grammarly for this post — I love run-on sentences apparently. Must. Work. On. That. I’ll let you know which other posts I use Grammarly for. 

Photo Credit: WeHeartIt

Leave a Reply

