Bursting the Bubble, film, Just for Fun, Lifestyle/Personal

“And I realize that mystery is the catalyst for imagination.”

Lately I’ve been watching, reading, and searching for things to inspire me, to open up my mind, to get my brain going. The other day I watched one of J.J. Abrams TEDTalks on Netflix where he discussed this box.

magic_box1

When he was a kid he bought this $15 magic mystery box, which contained $50 worth of magic, with his grandfather. He has never opened the box. He keeps it in his office and looks at it often. He loves what the box represents – mystery, the unknown, potential, possibilities. It’s the not-knowing that intrigues him.

The night after I watched his talk, I was bullied into watching Castaway with my dad. There I was confronted with another unopened box, this one representing hope, faith, and grace.

What’s in the box and why am I being surrounded by unopened boxes?

Why is everything a mystery? 

Aren’t I supposed to be thinking OUTSIDE the box?!?! 

Needless to say I’ve been Googling the possibilities of what is in either of these unopened boxes and I’ve stumbled on some pretty creative answers. I’ve even written my own list of what could be inside that FedEx box because I gotsta knowwwww. I’m at the mercy of these mysteries but that’s where the magic begins. My mind is exploding with possibilities.

photo

Because really, the possibilities are endless.

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

*The title of this post is a quote from the transcript of J.J. Abrams TedTalk*

1 thought on ““And I realize that mystery is the catalyst for imagination.””

  1. I’m very happy to uncover this web site. I need to to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!!
    I definitely liked every bit of it and I have you book-marked to look at
    new things on your site.

Leave a Reply

