In Retrospect

As my little brother begins to apply for college/university I wonder, if I was 17 again, which university would I go to? What would I study? Seven years ago I applied to three universities for English and Communications. After dropping Communications in second year (why, I don’t know, I think it had something to do with the 6 month TA strike), I graduated with a BA in English from York. Unable to find a job and eager to get back to school, I applied to get into the Publishing Program at Chang School of Continuing Education, and graduated with a certificate this year. Once again I am frantically searching for a job career and have gotten nothing: no interviews, no call backs, I’m not even qualified enough to apply for most jobs. Are there no more entry-level jobs? Am I really supposed to do internships for the rest of my life? And how the heck am I supposed to get 5 years of experience under my belt if no one will hire me?

quote-about-life-thinking-positive-1024x657_large

All complaining aside, I’m serious. How am I supposed to find job? If I were applying to universities again I’d make sure I was taking some Business and Marketing Courses, I’d minor in Social Media, and I’d dabble in PR. Those are the only jobs I’ve seen posted in a long time. English Degrees are useless – I’ve read enough articles to back me up on that one – unless you plan on becoming a teacher. Me? A teacher? Have you spoken to a child lately? They’re all angry and mean and they could probably teach ME a thing or two about life. So where do I go from here? What does one do when all of their education is (at the moment) essentially useless? Well, I guess I could go back to school or I could make the best out of a shitty situation and keep applying to jobs that I probably won’t even get interviewed for. I could keep serving pizza and writing blog posts and reading books until someone out there thinks I’m capable enough to write a blog post for them or photocopy their important documents, or I don’t know, just WORK for them.

Who knew it would be this hard to find a job?

Not me.

Either way, I have to keep trying and…

large

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

2 thoughts on “In Retrospect

Leave a Reply

