@MattelGameOn #GameOnParty

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 10.24.06 AM

Recently I was sent a GAME ON Kit from Mattel so I could host my very own GAME NIGHT! I took a little online questionnaire to determine what kind of “gamer” I am and they sent me some wonderful games. Apparently I’m a Strategicorn! Although I’m not very good at board games I love playing them. There’s something incredibly calming about sitting around the table with your family or friends, snacks at hand, music playing in the background, laughing, competing, and just enjoying each other’s company. How often do people do that anymore? How come people don’t find time to play games? Games that aren’t on their cell phones, games that actually require talking, thinking, and eye contact?

Although I haven’t hosted a GAME NIGHT, I’ve been taking a game out one at a time depending on who is over. I’ve played MAD GAB, attempted BALDERDASH, and enjoyed APPLES TO APPLES. All with different groups of people, each evening more fun than the next. I know that I’m always connected, always online, always ready to share a photo or tweet 140 characters of unimportant nonsense, BUT when it comes to family time (or friend time) I do my best to enjoy the people to my left and to my right. I do my best to be social and to have fun with the real people, not my Internet friends. Those nights have been some of the best nights of my life.

So, when are you going to invite me over for game night?!?!

Talk soon,

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

