You’re in a rut and its time to get out of it!

Tuesday was my first official mentor session with Casie Stewart thanks to the contest I won from HTC Canada. I walked into the Royal York Fairmont Hotel and wandered aimlessly, taken aback by the sheer beauty of the place. I had arrived at said destination a little early and figured that the best use of my time would be to people-watch. Classy and elegant women sat on sofas with their ankles crossed, a piano player sang her heart out somewhere in the distance, an angry man with grey hair shuffled passed me with his head shaking and mumbling an audible FUCK under his breath, while a young woman stood silently with her suitcases leaning against her — making me want to travel desperately.

IMG_4823

As I looked around and stared up at the beautiful boxy ceilings, and shamelessly took a selfie, Casie popped out of nowhere with a big hug and a warm smile. My nerves melted away as we made our way to Library Bar, ordered cocktails and an appetizer to split. We immediately jumped into conversation, like old friends, and admittedly it was one of the best conversations I’ve had in a long time.  As the dark-lit room buzzed with the busyness of businessmen I let it all fade away and opened my mind to everything Casie was saying.

As part of the HTC One contest, I won a few hours with Casie Stewart so she can get me on the proper path to becoming an Influencer with my blog.  But before we got into that Casie wanted to know about me and what I want. When I couldn’t come up with an answer she asked me to visualize where I want to be, what I want to wear to work, what kind of company I want to work for, where I want to live, and not just visualize it but FEEL it. That will be my first step to AWESOMENESS.

Next Casie told me about herself, she told me stories that left me feeling inspired and motivated. She gave me tonnes of advice and really believes in me which left me on a cloud the rest of the evening. She told me to stop coasting, to stop being afraid, and to do things — the more you do, the more inspired you’ll be to write. She told me to make a change and THAT is exactly what I plan on doing. First I must figure out what I want and then make a plan (and work my ass off to get it).

I can’t wait to meet up with Casie again to show her what I’ve been working on.

Her positivity and caring nature made me feel confident and ready to take on the world.

Looks like she’s pulling me out of my rut!

___

Love Always

Vanessa Xo

One thought on “You’re in a rut and its time to get out of it!

  1. Ah, this is so exciting! I’m SO glad to hear you’re making progress. I’d like to think I am but somehow I don’t think I am. I need to keep the “do things” in mind and stop being afraid or lazy. I’ll get there 🙂 Keep up the great work, love!

Leave a Reply

