Family Time, Just for Fun, Lifestyle/Personal

Never Throw Out Anyone

photo-1On Tuesday night  I squished into a booth at Kelsey’s with five girlfriends from high school — you might remember my post about cutting them out of my life. I came across that Audrey Hepburn quote (on Instagram) mere hours before I went for dinner with them and couldn’t get it out of my head. I forgot how relaxing a night out with the girls can be, I forgot how much fun I have with these girls, I forgot how much we made each other laugh, and it was nice to get to know them all over again. By the end of the night I realized that I didn’t throw anyone out, we just took a break and somehow turned into adults. We’ve found our way back as a group and that’s OKAY. In fact, it’s actually pretty wonderful. We might not see each other all the time, we may lead completely different lives, but that doesn’t mean that we can’t be there for one another.

There’s a certain confidence and pride that comes with learning to cherish and appreciate your family and friends. There’s a calming agent in knowing that if you put the effort into a relationship or friendship you’ll never be lonely. I went through that whole “I’m twenty and it’s time to be selfish” phase (doesn’t everyone or just me?) but now I’m finding more pleasure in the things I do for others than the things I do for myself. I’m finding a different kind of happiness in being around people that I didn’t know I could feel. I’m more open than ever when it comes to going out and doing things and enjoying the moment.

I’ve never felt so free, so content, so inspired.

Love Always 

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

