Family Time, Just for Fun, Lifestyle/Personal, Restaurant Reviews

Weekend Recap [I put on my cape]

This weekend was my sister’s baby shower at Casamici Trattoria and although I will never understand the point in any kind of shower, it was an amazing afternoon. Since my sister is barely able to move, my mom, my brother-in-law, my brother, and myself had a lot of work to do. My mom in particular put in months and months of work to get all of the little details to make the baBEE shower absolutely perfect! The best part of events like this is that you get to see your family. I have a BIG family and if you combine them with Richard’s, the family is HUGE, but to have them all in one space, talking, and having a great time is a wonderful experience. I truly believe that family is everything. Thank you to everyone who came out to celebrate with us. We are so excited and thrilled about the baby girl on the way, she is lucky to have such a fun, good-looking (ha ha), and supportive family.

Yesterday afternoon I put on my cape, as I’ve done for many years and walked into my new-old-part-time-temporary-job at the pizza place I’ve been working (on and off) since I was sixteen. Did I say cape? I meant apron. Yes, I put on my apron and walked into the restaurant, my boss smiling — “I’m sorry to be the one to say this,” he says and I immediately thought I had made a mistake, “I’m really happy to have you back here. Even just for a little while.”

I exhaled and returned the smile. It was like walking into a second home and it was almost as if I hadn’t been gone for three months, living a completely different life downtown. That thought depressed me a little but I quickly let it escape from my mind. My boss and I discussed it as I stocked every possible thing in that restaurant. “Things happen when they want to, Vanessa. Every business adventure I’ve ever started has happened when IT wanted to. The more you want something, the more you try to force it, the less likely it will happen. Do what you have to do now and keep working hard.”

tumblr_lwkz0320oh1r79azjo1_500

Love Always

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

