Vancouver 2013 [Travel Diary]

I am a horrible traveller; I hate flying, I end up constipated no matter how long I’m away from home, and if there is any kind of time change you can count me out from any event happening after 9 p.m. That said, I still LOVE to travel. I love to see new places, try different restaurants, and I love being a tourist. I’ve travelled quite a bit in the past four years but I must admit that Vancouver has been my favourite destination. For a quick recap of my trip you can check out my post on Chic Darling (which will be up shortly), for a more intimate recap, keep on reading…

Vancouver is a beautiful city surrounded by picturesque mountains. The air is so clean and fresh I felt I was breathing for the first time. The city is quaint and relatively quiet, yet filled with bikers, runners, rollerbladers, and beautiful people (there must be something in the air). The funny thing about Vancouver is that no one is actually FROM there. When you eavesdrop on conversations that is the first thing you’ll notice. They’ll say “I’m originally from Mississauga or Halifax or Barrie or Nova Scotia”. At first you’ll wonder why exactly they moved all the way out there to be a waiter but after a quick walk around the city you’ll begin to understand their motives.

On our trip we got to spend a few days with my boyfriend’s aunt and uncle. It’s amazing how different a trip can be when you know people who live there. They took us to two fabulous restaurants that we never would have found on our own: Nook (aka the best pizza ever) and Brown’s (aka Moxie’s but with good food). They were also our ride and excellent tour guides to/in Whistler, BC. I am so thankful that they were able to take us to the most beautiful place on earth, a place that will make you understand what it really means to catch your breath. Although I would recommend proper footwear, you should definitely take the ski lifts to the top of the mountain, it is the most relaxing thing I’ve ever experienced. On your way back to the city be sure to stop at all of the viewpoints — you will not believe your eyes.

Thank you Zia Anna and Zio Joe for the best day of our trip in Vancouver, I will never forget your hospitality and great conversation.

We will be back to visit sooner than later 😉

What else can I say about Vancouver?

  • If you find a great deal, stay at the Rosewood Georgia Hotel. It’s clean, luxurious, and the staff is unbelievably accommodating. They have a great gym, a large pool, and a spa (which I wish I tried out). They also have a wonderful driver named Jim — he will drive you anywhere in the city (within 15 minutes of the hotel) in his Bentley — for free. AND he makes an excellent tour guide! Thanks for the rides and information, Jim!
  • The coffee in Vancouver is expensive and bitter. I advise a walk to Tim’s whenever you’re in the mood for a cuppa joe, it’s the ONLY good cup of coffee I had all week.
  • For a fancy dinner and incredible meal check out Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar. The atmosphere is both dark and romantic with a hint of class. They have a great outdoor patio with a fireplace crackling in the background if the weather permits. Alex would probably recommend the steak and mashed potatoes, while I would recommend the salmon and a brownie for dessert.
  • If possible, go to Vancouver with people you love — or the love of your life. Vancouver is a great city to experience with someone, especially someone who loves to explore. Someone who will take you to the art gallery and not rush you through it, who will walk around the mall with you, who will help pick out gifts for your future niece, who will make sure you don’t fall when you’re walking up snow-covered mountains in sandals. Someone who will let you rest when jet lag is kicking your ass all over town, and who will surprise you with cupcakes when you finally wake up from the longest cat-nap ever. Someone who will have flowers delivered to the restaurant just before you sit down for dinner. Someone who will make you laugh, someone who will make sure that you make the most of your trip. Someone who will make your trip unforgettable. Thank you for a great trip, Alex!

Vancouver 2013 – Photo Diary

Obligatory Wing-Shot
Obligatory Wing-Shot
Granville Island Market
Granville Island Market

IMG_3313

Us and Jim's Bentley in Granville Island
Us and Jim’s Bentley in Granville Island
Our Hotel
Our Hotel

IMG_3347

IMG_3365

IMG_3366

IMG_3398

IMG_3380

IMG_3381

IMG_3383

IMG_3393

Gastown
Gastown
Stanley Park
Stanley Park

IMG_3423

Until our next travel adventure…

Love Always

Vanessa Xo

2 thoughts on “Vancouver 2013 [Travel Diary]

Leave a Reply

