Bursting the Bubble [Week 5]

It’s been a wonderfully busy week, filled with events, mailings, coffee, and picture-taking. Funnily enough, the only thing I can think about while writing this recap is the horizon. The cityscape that comes into view every morning as I merge onto another highway on my way to work. On Wednesday, the sky was a palette of pastels; blue, purple, and pink, separate and then bleeding into each other. The sun was slowly opening its eyes, its arms stretching across the sky. In the distance I saw buildings, all of which became a part of the pastel sky, like chameleons. There was something so terrifyingly calming about this scene. It whispered softly, This is exactly where you’re supposed to be.  

photo.JPGd

That is what Week 5 if my internship has been about, hitting my stride, finding my place.

I feel most in my element, or most excited when I get to attend events. On Monday evening I attended the Full Count launch as – get this – the photographer/intern. I wonder if I can add that to my resume? Anyhow, the launch was held at Opera Bob’s, a really wicked pub on Ossington and Dundas. The event was filled with hot dogs, peanuts, beer, and some pretty famous names in sports (starting with the author Jeff Blair).  Needless to say, the bf and dad were bursting with jealousy for missing such a great event. Although I’ve yet to read Full Count I was blown away by the amount of support Mr. Jeff Blair received from his friends, co-workers, and complete strangers. It was a FUN event and I really enjoyed playing the role of paparazzi – although I felt bad interrupting people to get a photo or blinding them with my flash.

RBC_Banner1

On Tuesday I joined in on the Random House Retreat Book Club’s online chat with Tanis Rideout about her novel Above All Things. I’ve never been part of a book club and I am really glad I decided to join this one. It’s amazing to discuss and analyze books with other people, it’s even more amazing to chat with the author about their masterpiece. The next book up for discussion is Trust Your Eyes by Linwood Barclay —  LET ME KNOW IF YOU JOIN!

On Wednesday I attended the Drunk Mom launch. It was another lovely event held at Ben McNally Books store. This launch was interesting for two reasons: I wasn’t working the event so I really got to mingle and  I read the book (and really love it!). There were three highlights to the evening:

a) Meeting Grace O’Connell the author of Magnified World, who is super cool and very down to earth

b) Listening to the speeches made by Jowita and her editor – they both have a way with words, as well as, a wonderful presence

c) Meeting Jowita

I had a serious fan-girl moment while waiting in line to get my book signed, all I kept thinking is what do I say? What do I say? What do I say? So, when my turn came I said, “Hi I’m the intern who tweeted you that I was too shy to say hi at the office.”

Yep. I did. I said that. I am THAT cool.

Thankfully, Jowita smiled warmly and actually remembered me! She signed my book, commented on  my review of her book, and posed for a photo with me. It was a wonderful moment. #InternPerks

photo 3

 On Friday I woke up a little tired but ready and willing to tackle the day. The sun was shining, the birds were conversing happily,  the lady at Tim’s made me the most delicious cup of coffee, and I had one of mom’s (famous) peanut butter muffins for breakfast — all was going well until I got to Wilson subway station and realized there was no service from there to Eglington.

Hello0000 shuttle bus crammed like a can of sardines with sweaty people!

Hellooooo Mr. Bus Diver! Although I appreciate the ride you, COULD have warned me that I was standing too close to the doors before you opened them — my foot was nearly severed.

photo.JPG8

I guess I shouldn’t get too upset about all of that nonsense because in the afternoon I got to go with Anne (Publicity Assistant and Awesome Person) and Anthony Marra (Author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena) to a few bookstores so he could sign stock. And then, he signed my copy too! I’ve been reading his novel for a few days and am at the point where I genuinely care about each character and can’t wait to find out what happens next. You can follow Anthony Marra on Twitter and talk to him about his novel (it comes out on TUESDAY).

All in all I had a pretty sweet week. I’m exhausted and not even remotely ready for my trip to Vancouver but who cares? I met some incredible authors, attended some great launches, and learned a few more things about Publicity, Online Marketing, and what it takes to get a book OUT THERE.

It can’t get any sweeter than that…

photo 1

…okay… maybe it can 😉

Love Always

Vanessa Xo

P.S. Stay tuned for some “beauty/fashion” posts during my trip to Vancouver, as well as, a trip recap on Chic Darling. Bursting the Bubble will be back after Week 6 of my internship (May 18th).

2 thoughts on “Bursting the Bubble [Week 5]

  1. I love Grace O’Connel. I met her last year at the Ontario bloggers meet up and she was so nice and easy to chat with. It sounds like you’re having so much fun at your internship, glad you get to experience so much!

Leave a Reply

