Just for Fun, Lifestyle/Personal, Toronto Adventures

I’m a failure and so are you.

This week is FAILURE WEEK at Hazlitt Magazine. My favourite post so far is How We All Become Failures by Kaitlin Fontana. I, too, am a fanatic for success, a lover of perfection, and a sucker for doing things right. Of course I’ve failed at many things — driving tests in particular. I’ve felt that tightening in my chest after receiving an exam mark that wasn’t as high as I thought it would be. I’ve had tears in my eyes when telling my parents about an agent who rejected me or a job that I didn’t get.

There’s nothing quite like that lump in your throat when you’ve disappointed someone, when you burn dinner or forget to pick up your brother, when you haven’t reached your potential.

20130416-160220.jpg

There are so many ways to fail in life and thanks to social media, they’re all out in the open. I wonder what the silver lining is to being a failure. Is there one? Often we learn from our mistakes and sometimes we become better people, so maybe it’s okay to fail once in a while.

At least our failures have the potential to become great stories some day.

Love Always

Vanessa Xo

1 thought on “I’m a failure and so are you.”

Leave a Reply

