Perfection.

Today I went to my sister’s second ultrasound, which means she’s hit the 20-week mark of her pregnancy (WOW!). I wasn’t sure what to expect, I’ve seen ultrasounds on T.V. and in movies but never in real life. I walked into Exam Room #5 to see my sister laying on a bed, her hard round tummy exposed and plastered with a nasty green goop. I walked further into the room and took a look at the extremely high-tech computer. I watched as the technician glided a gray gizmo along my sister’s belly. And there it was, my niece or nephew. With a perfectly round head, a sweet little nose, and the tiniest feet I’ve ever seen. I watched him (I always say ‘him’, I don’t know why) move around, kick, and then place his fists under his chin, as if posing for Mommy, Daddy, Tia, and Grandma! My eyes began to fill with tears, my heart was literally swollen with happiness, and I thought So THIS is love at first sight. 

In the car on the way home I stared at the ultrasound picture and couldn’t get over how incredible that moment was. I’m so glad my sister and brother-in-law asked me to go with them (or said yes when I harassed them about it :P). It was an amazing thing to witness and seeing the smile on my sister and brother-in-law’s face really spoke to me. It spoke of happiness, of excitement, of awe, of shock, and of pure pure love. The last time I saw my sister this happy was on her wedding day — her happiness is a beautiful sight.

Baby Bear, you will be the most loved child on the face of the Earth and your Tia cannot wait to meet you!

Jess and Rich, thank you for letting me be apart of this amazing day.

Jess, that's going to be YOU soon -- minus the cat, we hate cats.
Jess, that’s going to be YOU soon — minus the cat, we hate cats.

Love Always

Vanessa Xo

One thought on “Perfection.

Leave a Reply

