Book Reviews, film, Just for Fun, Toronto Adventures

Nobody's Fool — Books on Film

Nobodys-FoolOn Monday I spent the day downtown with the bf. We went to the seven o’clock screening of Nobody’s Fool, a film based on Richard Russo’s novel for the Books on Film Series. The film came out in 1994 and stars Paul Newman, Bruce Willis, Jessica Tandy, and Melanie Griffith. You can find the movie info on IMDb so I’m not going to rehash it all.

What I will say is that this film is full of unforgettable characters. What starts out as a slow-moving film turns into an eye-opening experience about an old man who doesn’t want to grow up. A man with a big heart, who under his smart-ass, sarcastic exterior is a man among men. A man who really loves life and all the people in his little town. A man who is worn to perfection. A man who grows on you. A man who is trying to make amends for the mistakes he’s made.

I’m a little sad that I watched the film before reading the book but I picked up my copy at the Tiff store just before the screening so I haven’t really had time. I’m looking forward to reading it though, I feel like there is so much MORE to Sully (Paul Newman’s character) than the film let’s on.

Stay tuned for my book review in a few weeks, I’m looking forward to comparing the two.

“Don’t expect too much out of yourself at the beginning, I couldn’t do everything at first either.” – Sully

Are you attending any of the screenings for Books on Film?? LMK!

Love Always 

Vanessa Xo

Leave a Reply

